Undergraduate Research Opportunities Programme (UROP)

Undergraduate Research Opportunities Programme (UROP)

EG2605 Undergraduate Research Opportunities Programme (UROP)

UROP is introduced to provide students a unique opportunity in intensive research apprenticeship under the guidance of a staff member of the Faculty of Engineering. As students engaged in semester-long research expedition, they experience the challenges of and acquire skills for the intellectual process of inquiry to solve the undetermined through literature review and critical and creative thinking. Through UROP, close interactions are fostered with faculty members and members of the research group.  UROP also prepares students for their Final Year Project, postgraduate studies and future careers in Engineering & technology.

 

Eligibility

  • At least two semesters of study prior to graduation

  • Not to be taken concurrently with dissertation projects

  • Can only be taken once and completed within a semester

Research Areas

The level of involvement range from being an assistant in experimental research to software development in an academic department or interdisciplinary laboratories and centres in the field of engineering and technology. Participation in cross-departmental projects within the Faculty of Engineering is accepted.

 

Module deliverables

A minimum commitment of 130 hours and the submission of a 6-8 page technical research report in the given prescribed format at the end of the research work.

 

Selection of Projects and Module Enrolment

UROP projects are listed on the Enhancement Programmes portal. A mutual interest is required to support UROP module enrolment. Please write to the supervisor(s) to find out more details about the project (competencies required for the project, work schedule and targeted findings). Students should provide their background information, research interest, and schedule of availability for the conducting the research work. Faculty members may request for more information to assess the student toward the particular research project.

Contact Us

Ms. Lisa Moo, Office of Undergraduate Programmes: lisa.moo@nus.edu.sg for general and administrative enquiries.

UROP Committee

DepartmentCoordinatorEmail
Biomedical EngineeringA/Prof Huang Zhiweibiehzw@nus.edu.sg
Chemical & BiomolecularA/Prof Chiu Min-Senchecms@nus.edu.sg
Civil EngineeringA/Prof Tan Siew Annceetansa@nus.edu.sg
Electrical and Computer EngineeringA/Prof Xiang Chengelexc@nus.edu.sg
Engineering Science ProgrammeA/Prof Anjam Khursheedeleka@nus.edu.sg
Environmental EngineeringA/Prof J Paul Chenceecjp@nus.edu.sg
Industrial & Systems EngineeringDr Michel-Alexandre Cardinmacardin@nus.edu.sg
Materials Science & EngineeringProf Gong Haomsegongh@nus.edu.sg
Mechanical EngineeringA/Prof Quan Chenggenmpeqcg@nus.edu.sg

Download Forms

Undergraduate Research Opportunities Programme (UROP)