Upcoming Speakers

Professor Wang Chien Ming
Title : Very Large Floating Structures for Space Creation on the Sea
Date : 7 October 2016
Time : 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Venue : Engineering Auditorium, Faculty of Engineering

This lecture is generously sponsored by The Institution of Structural Engineers


Please click here to register. All are welcome. Admission is free.

* Qualified for 1 PDU by PEB and 1 STU (Structural).



In this lecture, the audience is introduced to the world of very large floating structures (VLFS) that have been gradually appearing in the waters off developed coastal cities and countries with long coastlines. Their presence is largely due to a severe shortage of land and the sky-rocketing land costs in recent times. After providing a description of VLFS system and highlighting its advantages over the traditional land reclamation in creating space from the sea, present and future applications of VLFS will be presented. Innovative features of VLFS for various applications will be highlighted. The input design data, hydroelastic analysis and design considerations for VLFS are discussed. The lecture will also include research studies conducted in NUS on VLFS, especially on the mitigation of the hydroelastic response of VLFS under wave action.



Prof C.M. Wang graduated from Monash University in Civil Engineering with a First Class Honours in 1978 and was awarded a M.Eng.Sc. and a Ph.D. degree from the same university in 1980 and 1982, respectively. Currently, he is the Director of the Engineering Science Programme and the Global Engineering Programme, Faculty of Engineering, National University of Singapore. He is a Chartered Structural Engineer, a Fellow of the Academy of Engineering Singapore, a Fellow of the Institution of Engineers Singapore, a Fellow of the Institution of Structural Engineers, a Council Member of the Institution of Structural Engineers, the Chairman of the IStructE Singapore Regional Group and Vice-Chairman of the EASEC and Engineering Science Leader in the International Engineering Science Consortium. He is also the Adjunct Professor in Monash University, Australia. His research interests are in the areas of structural stability, vibration, optimization, nanostructures, plated and shell structures and Mega‐Floats. He has published 400 journal papers and 8 books in the aforementioned areas. He is the Editor‐in‐Chief of the International Journal of Structural Stability and Dynamics andan Editorial Board Member of several journals including Engineering Structures, Ocean Systems Engineering, Structures and International Journal of Applied Mechanics. His many awards include the Monash Civil Engineering Alumnus of the Year 2015 Award, Lewis Kent Award, Keith Eaton Award, the IES Prestigious Engineering Achievement Award, the US$1 million Grand Prize in the Next Generation Port Challenge, and the IES/IStructE Best Structural Paper Awards.



7:00 pm Opening address by Prof Richard Liew, Chair of the NUS Engineering Lecture Series
7:05 pm Lecture by Prof Wang Chien Ming
7:45 pm Q&A
8:00 pm End